1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toy Hauler Info

Discussion in 'General' started by ScottyRock155, Jan 27, 2015.

1. ScottyRock155

ScottyRock155 A T-Rex going RAWR!

So I've been shopping for a toy hauler (for about 5 years) and I think I'm ready to finally pull the trigger. Before I do, I was curious to hear stories from the people who have them and lessons learned or things you wished you had thought about up front.

I've researched truck towing capability, brake controllers, load leveling hitches, RV brand quality and reputation, and many other things. I have a Honda 3000 generator, and it looks like I'll need a bigger one to run A/C and tire warmers at the same time.

I'm leaning, I just need that final little push that this really is a good idea. :D

2. Suburbanrancher

Suburbanrancher Chillzilla

It's not. Seriously - if your primary purpose for it is racing/track time then get yourself a quality cargo trailer and add the amenities such as roof a/c.

Toyhaulers are close to boats in the 'set your money on fire' factor. Sold my Weekend Warrior at a great loss after three years because a hidden leak ended up destroying the floor. Not to mention the wheel bearing that failed on the way to a race, electrical issues, excessive fuel costs, extra fees for hookups, etc etc.

3. GrayGhost

GrayGhost Well-Known Member

I have a livin lite (aka vrv, atc etc) and love it. All aluminum so no chance of water damage. It's light as hell, tows well, and it's so nice to wake up and shower in your own place.

Www.livinlite.com

4. ScottyRock155

Did you buy new? I'm looking at a used one so the initial depreciation is already gone.

I am using it for the track, but I want to use it for camping also. I sleep in my current cargo trailer on a cot in certain situations. I was looking at buying a 8x20 trailer and building one with a/c and stuff, but I'd have just as much in it as a used toy hauler.