1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thoughts on V6HW V7HW class structure

Discussion in 'WERA Vintage' started by Outsider V6 V7, Nov 21, 2019.

1. Outsider V6 V7

Outsider V6 V7 Well-Known Member

Sean, this is by no means a points question so please disregard anything Isenhower posts if it's points related. LOL As the self proclaimed god father of modern vintage with WERA we've seen a huge decline in these classes. Ray Hickman and I have been competing against each other since 1998 on old GSXR's. In it's heyday I believe the V7HW class had upwards of 20 on the grid at the GNF 2005? Of course several were bumping up from MW. Since then it's pretty much been Ray and I on our 7/11's. After the GNF Ray said it would be his last year on the big bike so I think now is the appropriate time to make a change.
    What I'm proposing is this.
    V6HW mimic AHRMA Next Generation Superbike class. Basically a 1992 cutoff date of 750cc inline and V cylinders with a 2mm overbore. Superbike configuration so USD forks, Flatslides and wider wheels. None of those fancy radial brake calipers. Ducati's 851 and 888 allowed with overbore. I'd quote their language on like design to eliminate the fiasco that AHRMA endured in it's first two seasons of this class. This change would eliminate the 7/11 and 7/10 hybrids that we all were racing. Prior to posting this I created a group of WERA, AHRMA and CCS racers to discuss this proposal and all are on board. Next year there will be 5 new racers in this class some you may have heard of. Brad Coleman, John Jacobi, Mark Junge, and I'd probably offer my backup to Lee Acree if he wants to ride it. Basically this generates more opportunities for people to attend WERA events and makes all three organizations classes eligible.