1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coaching kids

Discussion in 'General' started by Hyperdyne, Aug 19, 2016.

1. Hyperdyne

Hyperdyne Indy United SBK

I have been coaching for many years (mainly U-16) and had some fantastic players who went on to get scholarships, play for good club teams, etc.. I don't fancy myself as the best, but from the teams I have coached, I've built solid programs that focused on endurance and a strong fundamentals.

This current crop of players, not just mine, but the other two teams as well, have all of our coaches baffled. I've never seen a group of kids so willing to just quit. Not walk off the team quit, but give up within a few minutes of the game starting and not really care.

Anyone else seen this?

Tonyp425 likes this.
  2. Dave K

Dave K DaveK über alles!

Yeap and if you push on them to even try, mommy and daddy get upset that you're singling out their special little snow flake.

3. BigBird

BigBird blah

I've only coached this year, and it's been tee-ball, two teams: one girls and one boys. My observation is that the kids come and go as they please. Being part of a team is not really a priority any longer. The girls team was much more focused, complained less, and wanted to be better. The boys did develop, but some parents really didn't care much. Then they wonder why their kid can't hit the ball, field anything, etc. Well if you bring them once every two-three weeks, and don't even attempt to practice at home...it's on you. My boys team of 14 kids sometimes had 3 players show up. I would say maybe it's me and I suck, which is probably valid, but it wasn't just my team.

Growing up the team mattered, now it's about me only. e"sports" are where they are at.

4. Hyperdyne

Hyperdyne Indy United SBK

Done had that conversation with Snowflake's dad. He doesn't come to the games anymore cause I'm a big meanie-head.

5. Dave K

Dave K DaveK über alles!