1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is MotoAmerica working?

Discussion in 'General' started by Henrybgood2, Nov 7, 2019.

1. sheepofblue

sheepofblue Well-Known Member

https://www.roadracingworld.com/news/more-on-the-attendance-of-the-2015-red-bull-indianapolis-gp/

Sounds like year one was the best but the variance was not that big with it fairly stable around 150K. Also in 2015 5th out of 10 in the world for attendance. Seems like more of a success than failure but then as I said I am not a promoter.

Senna and ducnut like this.
  2. stk0308

stk0308 Well-Known Member

https://jalopnik.com/motogp-drops-indianapolis-motor-speedway-for-2016-1730087490
    2015 quote:
    "Boles told the Indianapolis Star that attendance of this year’s MotoGP race was the highest it’s been in four years—145,558 for all three days, with 67,648 on Sunday"
    Here's an article from 2011 showing some numbers. It's gone up and down a couple times, it seems.
    https://www.ibj.com/articles/29208-motogp-race-day-attendance-up-three-day-total-down

Any of these attendance numbers will look bad in Indy, as Mongo says, that place is built to hold a million plus, as I understand it. It'll always look "empty".

ducnut likes this.
  3. ducnut

ducnut Well-Known Member

Perception is a bitch.

Let’s all hope for a successful MA event and Mr Penske working toward bringing back MotoGP and/or bringing WSBK. I love going to events at IMS.

jd41, stk0308 and RRP like this.
  4. The Great One

The Great One Well-Known Member

I disagree. Of the current teams, Team Hammer, KWR and Westby all started with a focus on the lower levels before moving into Superbike (if my memory serves me correctly) as well as many others over time.

5. Mongo

Mongo Administrator