1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

safety wire...

Discussion in 'Information For New Racers' started by thiagoleal23, Jan 18, 2011.

1. thiagoleal23

thiagoleal23 Well-Known Member

Might sound stupid but its my first year racing and im just wondering if anybody will do safety wire on the bike?? I probably can do it myself but don't want to mess it up :/

2. socalrider

socalrider pathetic and rude

the nice thing about safety wire is the spool is very large, and you can cut and redo it a thousand times till your happy.

drilling your bolts though, can be tricky. search around here for lots of tips on it.

3. jiffyzx6

jiffyzx6 Well-Known Member

I believe you need to at least wire the oil drain plug, fill cap, oil filter, grips (just be careful with the wire, bend it down not up) and brake caliper bolts... I'm probably missing a few its been a while since I did my bike. its not hard and if you think it should be tied, Tie it lol it won't hurt. I think I went of off ama rules when I did mine... figured if its good enough for them its good enough for me

4. thiagoleal23

thiagoleal23 Well-Known Member

Thankss..... :)

5. blankwall

blankwall Well-Known Member

I know you can read the rulebook but honestly i can be confusing. I think it would help some new guys out if someone would list out what exactly needs to be wired. I would appreciate that. :up:

6. bodie1331

bodie1331 Well-Known Member

Make sure to get a pair of safety wire pliers, it makes it SUPER easy and actually, kinda fun!

7. jiffyzx6

lol I'm as new as you are my first race is in two weeks. if I can find it ill post it unless someone beats me to it... and it is fun lol I got carried away with it and didn't realize it.

8. gixxie750

gixxie750 Well-Known Member

Oil fill
    oil drain
    oil filter
    front caliper bolts
    front brake pad retaining pins
    case cover access holes
    axles
    fork pinch bolts