1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Living on a boat - idiots long term dream may become a reality

Discussion in 'General' started by Alex_V, Jun 28, 2012.

1. Alex_V

Alex_V Dump the diesel

So, this had been a longtime dream of mine. To buy a small boat, cabin cruiser or whatnot and live on it. I guess have it parked in a marina on weekday and venture out on weekends. Commute time from some of the marinas near Lanier to my job would be under an hour and I can handle that.

I don't have many things. Everything I own is payed off, and I can handle small spaces.

So I was looking and doing initial research for a small cabin cruiser to pay cash for. What would one expect to pay for a used older one. Needs to have shower, kitchen, bed and a toilet.

Anyone knows about boats? I am a complete newb, but you have to start somewhere.

Ideas, or words of advice?

2. turbulence

turbulence Well-Known Member

I know this about boats.

BOAT. bring another thousand.

two happiest days of a boat owners life. the day he gets it and the day he sells it.

BOAT. hole in the water you throw money into.

:D

have fun!

3. Alex_V

Alex_V Dump the diesel

Yeah, I have heard that before ))

Heard a lot of sayings about why not to get into motorcycling as well.

Owning a house was a huge money pit as well.

4. KovzR6

KovzR6 Well-Known Member

boats are more expensive than motorcycle, to fix, and maintain.

once you have a reliable boat, docking isn't cheap, moving marina to marina will be expensive since most charge per season, and have expensive day to day rates for people passing by (could be anywhere form $10-30 per day)

also, fuel, at least in my area is 16-18% higher at marina's than it is at the street pumps

5. Alex_V

Alex_V Dump the diesel