1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lets talk fasting

Discussion in 'General' started by SPL170db, Nov 25, 2017.

1. SPL170db

SPL170db Trackday winner

So I just got done watching a documentary called "Science of Fasting" on Amazon, pretty interesting. If you find the subject matter intriguing I recommend giving it a watch. A lot of really interesting research and studies have been conducted on it since like 50-60 years ago but not widely talked about.

Anywho, I've got lots of experience with your typical 16/8 fasting regimen. Been employing it for years from time to time, but have never gone longer than that. Was curious to hear input from others if you've done longer fasts. Not like juice fasts or whatever they're called. I mean actual calorie restriction for longer than 24 hours, only water, and I guess like non-caloric drinks like coffee or tea if those are allowable.

That documentary up there talked about places overseas that have employed fasting to treat a whole slew of medical conditions with very favorable results.

I guess its not too surprising in this society of excess everything (especially calories) we live in to see how people are getting sicker and sicker, because historically/genetically our bodies are actually better equipped to be in a state of without rather than a state of with.

2. jrsamples

jrsamples Banned

3. terminus est

terminus est Be prepared

It's good to give your guts a rest every now and then. Supposedly your immune system will 'reset' or something after a couple of days. I've never done it for more than 24hrs, but even that much has a lot of health benefits. Strengthens the mind too, mind over body and stuff.

4. wsmc42

wsmc42 Well-Known Member