Wanting to get in to racing....

Discussion in 'General' started by dogdoc, Sep 21, 2009.

1. dogdoc

dogdoc Member

Hey-

Just thought I would post a message to see if anyone has any suggestions on the best way to get into the sport. I have been riding for the last 8 years (YZF 600 to R1 to Rocket III to ???? maybe R6)- I have always wanted to get into racing, but have been very caught up with work etc- also, I do not have any friends that are into racing... so I don't have any idea as to 1- what I am getting in to, 2- where to start, 3- what to expect.
    I was going to start with a racing school like Ed Bergy.... First- I need to get a track bike- I was having some difficulty deciding between a 2004 GSXR 750- that has a ton of mods and great shocks (according to the guys at the bike shop) and going with a lightly salvaged R6 or GSXR 600- and completing the race conversion myself or with the help of a local shop. I rode the GSXR the other day--- very nice- but I would imagine that it might not be the best idea to start out on something like that--- and that going with something more stock....(and newer) would be better--- that way, I can at least get to the point where I can know what I want to buy and why, based on feedback from track days.

In any case- any thoughts or help would be much appreciated... as far as my mechanical aptitude- I did not grow up in a "gear head" family... so my experience is limited, but I enjoy it.... so it will be a learning process.

Mat

2. 2Fer

2Fer Is good

As far as bike, none of the above, get a SV650

3. svdale

svdale That's my Baby

4. Any of the bikes you mentioned are ok to start on. I would suggest the 600. Just put some race body work on it, saftey wire it. Put stainless steel brake lines on it, good brake pads, a steering damper, and some race or track day tires, and you will be ok to start out. I have not taken the Ed Bargey school, but I think it is probably a good school to start with.

5. dogdoc

dogdoc Member