Portable Compressor

Discussion in 'General' started by socal, Mar 14, 2017.

1. socal

socal Well-Known Member

I am new to portable compressors. While researching, I came upon this.

It seems like a pretty good sale - Craftsman 3 Gallon plus accessories $90 shipped.

http://www.sears.com/3-gallon-1.0-h...SellerId=Sears&prdNo=4&blockNo=4&blockType=G4

maintenance of oil worthwhile trade-off vs noise of non oil?

Is this the right size compressor for an impact wrench to remove a Ducati rear axle nut?

Thanks for your insight!

2. CB186

CB186 go f@ck yourself

Oiless suck, so I would prefer this over an oil free. That said, about the only thing I use a compressor for is tires or blowing stuff off.
    Buy a cordless impact(I really like my new Milwaukee brushless stuff) and not have to sorry about lugging a compressor around.

bleacht likes this.
  3. omatter34

omatter34 Well-Known Member

I have this an use it all the time. Love that little thing. No problem setting the bead on the race bike either when I change my own tires.

4. TSAVO5150

TSAVO5150 ASMA #70

I've had this compressor for over 10 years, works great never any problems.

5. G.Rand

G.Rand Well-Known Member

Anthony,

The compressor you are looking at seems like a decent deal for 90 bucks, but I doubt that thing is going to be able to budge a rear axle nut (especially if it hasn't been removed yet since being installed by the factory). The rear axle nut on my MV is factory installed with a torque rate of 240 nm and required a 6 foot extension on a 1/2" wrench with 180 lbs. body standing on the extension to get that thing to budge --- I'm guessing that your axle nut is likely installed with the same/similar torque specs.

6. socal

socal Well-Known Member

Thanks for the replies guys.

I will call you Greg.

7. beechkingd

beechkingd Well-Known Member