1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Painting OEM Plastics

Discussion in 'General' started by Lance Molnar, Mar 8, 2022.

1. Lance Molnar

Lance Molnar Aoxomoxoa

Have a friend who has some gravel damage to his OEM GSXR fairings.

I have zero experience with fixing/painting plastic fairings.

Wondering if anybody has some good advice, knows of a good resource or does this for a living/hobby...assuming is different than painting fiberglass?

2. pfhenry

pfhenry Well-Known Member

When I worked as paint prep guy on Harley shit the shop I was at had some crazy process of lacquer thinner, followed by some kind of parts cleaner, then soap water scrub with red scotch brite, then lacquer thinner again, then sand with 180 grit... Google says wash with soap and water, scuff with 300, then tack rag.

Basically make the shiny plastic go away.

3. ahrma_581

ahrma_581 Well-Known Member

Restore to OEM appearance? If so, cost of materials, paying someone to prep and spray, OEM stickers, etc. likely make it more worthwhile to check on the 'bay or local boneyards for used in decent condition.

4. 27

27 Well-Known Member

No man no...

Treat it the same as fiberglass or metal... sand/prime repeat until smooth... use 400 then 600 then spray... base color/clear done

if you sand into the ABS it’ll react to your paint and make a mess... you’ll see it when you prime as it’ll raise up and look like scratches...

if this happens then you need to seal it until it stops, with a self etching primer, this sucks, try not to sand into the plastic... this means if possible, sand the existing paint and fill the rock chips with primer and paint over it all...

This isn’t opinion, it’s fact and 40 years of paint experience. Not being a conceited ass just letting you know this is the proper way.

code3ryder likes this.
  5. 27

27 Well-Known Member