Older diesel?

Discussion in 'General' started by Scotty87, Mar 23, 2017.

1. Scotty87

Scotty87 Lacks accountability

My current truck is getting pretty worn out, thinking about replacing it with a late 90's-early 2000s diesel. Most likely a 7.3 Ford, maybe a bulletproofed 6.0. Also somewhat considering the same MY Dodge, but the transmission and rust issues have me a little gun shy there. I'm new to diesels, but from what I understand the 7.3 is pretty much trouble free. I'm looking to stay under 20k, I dont drive a lot and don't need something super new and nice. I don't really 'need' a diesel, but I have had a use for one in the past, and I'm looking to get a 'do-it-all' truck that I can hang on to for 5-10 years.

2. Boman Forklift

Boman Forklift Well-Known Member

My 2000 7.3 was good, but drive a GM with the duramax and allison. I think you need to go to the model year of 2004.5 to get the better LLY engine. I sold my 7.3 and bought a 02 GM with the LB7. My GM had more torque and will tow a toy hauler much better, vs. the 7.3. The way the transmission works in tow mode is far superior to what Ford had in 00.

The problem with the first gen LB7 engine like I have is injectors go bad and it takes a lot of labor hours to replace them. I think the dealer wants 4k for the job.

The LLY is the better engine. http://www.dieselarmy.com/features/history/family-lineage-the-evolution-of-gm-diesel-truck-engines/

TurboBlew likes this.
  3. wmhjr

wmhjr Well-Known Member

Take a look at the internal components of the Powerstroke, the Duramax and the Cummins. If it's late 90s or early 2000s, I don't think there is even a discussion. The Cummins is duty rated for more than twice the longevity than the other two. The most reliable will be a Cummins with a manual transmission.