1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

When it rains...

Discussion in 'General' started by DeathMagnet, Aug 19, 2017.

1. DeathMagnet

DeathMagnet Life behind bars...

Noob here...Looking for concencus, when it rains, is there such a thing as rain gear or you just get wet?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

2. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

Both.

There is rain gear and some of it works pretty well (the clear stuff you see GP riders using, someone will know specific brands). But overall you'll always get wet. Don't use anything too loose, it'll flap and eventually tear which means garbage on the track.

3. Kurlon

Kurlon Well-Known Member

I wear a Teknic rain jacket and just let the bike's fairings keep the bulk of the wet off my legs.

4. Dave K

Dave K DaveK über alles!

You asking about on track or on the street?

5. DeathMagnet

DeathMagnet Life behind bars...

Track. On the street I ride an adventure bike and wear full Gortex so I never have to think about if it rains.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

6. Dave K

Dave K DaveK über alles!

Got a few bucks check out the RS Taichi one piece race rain suit. Full suit with cut outs for knee sliders and flex panels at the knees. Alpinestars make a two piece suit that should work. Spidi (i think) used to make one of those jackets that covers from your crotch up with long sleeves.

7. I've used the clear rain suits before. But you still end up getting wet, and you get hot as hell (especially if it stops raining and the sun comes out real quick).

My advice would be to have a spare suit and gloves, and then just get wet. It's just water.