1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What are steering stops for?

Discussion in 'Tech' started by 05Yamabomber, Aug 7, 2023.

1. 05Yamabomber

05Yamabomber Dammit Haga

2017 R6 I bought has aftermarket steering stops. I have never used them before. It severely limits the turning radius and many times when turning around I end up having to put my foot down cause the bish wont turn enough.

2. TurboBlew

TurboBlew Registers Abusers

does it have a bigger radiator or anything in the way when at full lock??

3. 05Yamabomber

05Yamabomber Dammit Haga

No bike is stock motorwiseHas an Ohlins damper

4. SBKBee

SBKBee Owner: FZ hotel

Helps prevents abhorrent high sides, resulting in more of a low side.

5. ducnut

ducnut Well-Known Member

Minimizes tank slappers and will help preserve the OEM steering stops in a crash.

6. 05Yamabomber

05Yamabomber Dammit Haga

I appreciate it. Just sucks turning bike around having to make huge turns or moving the bike around takes a lot longer.

7. Kurlon

Kurlon Well-Known Member

Just pretend it's a Ducati, or a Buell XB...

8. 05Yamabomber

05Yamabomber Dammit Haga

It is like ridiculous narrow turn radius. I cant even make a U-Turn on my street without slamming my foot down cause the bike says "no" you aint gonna make that turn. So tough bouncing between bikes that have and dont have. Probably gonna remove it.

9. Saiyan66

Saiyan66 Stand your ground

Seems like a dumb thing to have on the street, but on the track it might be extremely useful.

10. 05Yamabomber

05Yamabomber Dammit Haga

It is a fully prepped track bike. Just motor not built but everything else done. I was unloading it from my trailer today and had to turn around to get into my driveway and couldnt make the turn. Even leaving tech in the morning cant even turn around. Its embarrassing to be honest. I guess people get used to it but I am not there yet.

11. Dave Wolfe