1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tire info from 1000cc racers

Discussion in 'Information For New Racers' started by cMac, Jan 16, 2011.

1. cMac

cMac Conservatively Libral

I was trying to ask this before but worded the question very poorly. I ride a zx10 and was wonder how many races do you guys get out of a set of tires. Also also post how fast you are. I'm a new novice and will primarily be racing at Summit Point and New Jersey

Corey

2. Suburbanrancher

Suburbanrancher Chillzilla

Best I've gotten out of rears on the Suzuki and Honda literbikes I've raced has been four sprint races, but realistically their best performance (for me) usually tails off by the end of the third race. Fronts I can easily run about eight sprints - in fact I usually run two rear tires for every front. That is on Bridgestone BT003 DOT race tires.

Now, that doesn't mean the rear tires are completely shot after four races. After racing I'll flip them and use them for the following weekend's practices or a trackday. I don't flip fronts, however.

I'm not a fast guy by any means, but I enjoy Summit and NJMP. When my game is on my best race times around Summit main have been in the consistent low 1:19's; I've never raced Thunderbolt, by my TD laptimer has shown consistent 1:30's with the occasional 1:29. Realistically if you're doing anywhere in the 1:23 range at Summit and 1:34 range at T-Bolt you're doing very well for a first year novice, imo.

Just remember that although decent laptimes are important, the method that you're using to get to them is even more so. That means focusing on being smooth and consistent before anything else - then you'll see your times drop on their own.

3. caboose

caboose I love peanut butter!