1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TGPR gearing 2000 GSXR 750

Discussion in 'General' started by corvette95, Feb 18, 2002.

1. corvette95

corvette95 Well-Known Member

Hi, just got my racing license and my first time will be at Talladega. What gearing do you suggest for a stock GSXR 750? Also, what are the first mods should I do to make a street 750 into a track only 750? Thanks for your input and be easy on me...I am new at this! BTW 5'10 180lbs 207 gp stars.

2. mad brad

mad brad Guest

buy a sport rider, set the suspension to the recommended settings, then have fun and learn.

3. RZ Racer

RZ Racer It passed tech LAST time!

If you were on a small bike, I'd recomend gearing down to close up the ratio's, but on a powerful 750, stock gearing will be just fine.(especially considering your experience level) You'll probably spend the entire day in 2nd and 3rd gears, wich isn't really that bad as you'll spend less time thinking about shifting.(more time learning how to go fast) If you insist on changing the gearing, put on a 1tooth smaller countershaft and you'll be using 2nd, 3rd and an occasional 4th. You'll also spend a fair amount of time and effort trying to keep the front wheel on the ground!

4. roy826ex

roy826ex Been around here a while

I know this is a 750 gearing question but in comparison I have 1 down on the front of my '01 GSXR600 & I am running 3rd, 4th & 5th (rarely 5th unless I forget & slip it up going into the sweeper, bad idea). I actually could use 1-2 more up on the rear in addition to the 1 down in the front. In stock form it was a bear to go fast on at TGPR, I was using 2nd-3rd mostly & even 1st at times [​IMG] . Only thing is now it will spin up the rear hard if the tires not hot [​IMG] even hot my rear tire is shredding a little [​IMG]

[This message has been edited by Tailender (edited 02-19-2002).]

5. BC61

BC61 Well-Known Member