1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Street vs. Race Tires

Discussion in 'Tech' started by chuckbear, Mar 4, 2011.

1. chuckbear

chuckbear Totally radical, bro.

First, apologies for another tire thread but I'm not looking for opinions on brands...

So I'm looking at trackday tires... I'm a trackday guy. I may get into racing in the future, but right now trackdays are much better for my budget. For those familiar with Jennings, I'm running a mid-pack intermediate lap :)35s-:36s from what I can tell on video) pretty consistently after 2 weekends at the track with pilot powers, stock suspension, and stock pads/calipers. I'm a noob, yes, but I'm improving fairly quickly and I've since picked up a set of forks with race tech gold valving, newer calipers, newer MC, sintered HH pads, and I'm looking at a TTX rear shock hopefully before I get back to the track in a few weeks and I'm thinking with better braking techniques and better equipment I'll be shaving a couple more seconds off of my times. One thing that may help to know about my riding is that I've tended to rely a lot on engine braking, but I'm working on breaking that habit...