1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Snap On, Matco, Blue Point?

Discussion in 'General' started by Scotty87, Oct 31, 2013.

1. Scotty87

Scotty87 Lacks accountability

Tired of buying Craftsman, it's become junk. I'm in need of some metric hex bit long reach sockets, and I'd also like to start replacing my Craftsman stuff as it inevitably breaks with quality stuff. I'm not a pro, but have pretty frequent repair jobs for friends / word of mouth kinda stuff, in addition to my own projects. Point is, I use my tools daily and want quality stuff.

What's the skinny on the above three brands, for my use? I know Blue Point is Snap On's 'value' line, but beyond that I don't know too much. I don't mind spending more than Craftsman prices in order to get quality stuff, but again I'm not a full time mechanic so Matco / Snap On may be overkill.

What sayeth the beeb?

2. Dave K

Dave K DaveK über alles!

Snap on, Mac or Matco, they are like the sex herpes, You'll have them forever.

I have some blue point stuf I stole from my brother. He's never asked for it back.

3. Jedb

Jedb Professional Novice :-)

I have Snap-On, MAC and some Matco/old Craftsman.

I'd go with Snap-On moving forward as I need and can afford. I'm pretty well set, so don't need to buy at the moment.

4. Scotty87

How do you like it though, Dave? Is it noticeably higher quality than the dog shit Craftsman is currently putting out, or would you say it's about the same? Or worse, even? :Puke:

5. RM Racing

RM Racing Tool user