1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Shop labor rates

Discussion in 'General' started by Gino230, Jun 22, 2017.

1. Gino230

Gino230 Well-Known Member

What would you expect to pay (per hour) at a decent race shop?

Tire swap and new chain- $400. + tax.

$200 DID EVR520 chain
    $100 swap tires
    $100 install chain and sprocket.

I ran out of time or I would have done the tire swap myself. The bike has quick change, literally takes 15 min. Tire swap at the track is $15.
    The chain I usually pay to have the master link done, since it's kind of critical and I've never done one before.

But I'm feeling a little bent over here.....

2. dtalbott

dtalbott Driving somewhere, hauling something.

At the track, do you just bring them the wheels AND buy the tires from them?

3. motion

motion Nihilistic Member

Chain swap is a 15 minute job if you know what you're doing.

I had someone tell me just yesterday that they pay the Honda shop $500 each year to clean the carb on their 1970 Honda Trail 90. I educated them about using non ethanol gas in the future, so hopefully they won't get bent over like this every year.

4. noles19

noles19 Well-Known Member

I imagine the high cost for the tire swap is because they were still on the bike, so regardless of it being a quick change they bill it as an hour.

5. pickled egg

pickled egg Tell me more

Doesn't sound unreasonable to me.

R&R both wheels
    R&R rear sprocket (I'm assuming only the rear)
    R&R tires
    Balance tires
    Cut chain
    Cut new chain to length
    Install new chain and peen master link
    Adjust chain tension and adjust rear wheel

backbone and 418 like this.
  6. Gino230

Yes.

But even if I already have the tires (mail order, for example), They usually charge me $15 for the swap. Both wheels.

7. Gino230

I guess you're right, the tech probably worked on the bike for 2 hours doing all that shit.