1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Setting up geometry

Discussion in 'Tech' started by KneeDragger_c69, Jan 8, 2024.

1. KneeDragger_c69

KneeDragger_c69 Well-Known Member

Ive been chasing for so many years suspension issues with ever getting the bike to handle like a knife carving through butter.

I know nothing of suspension, so I always ask for help from suspension tuners. Clickie here, clickie their and still not perfect.

Kept saying feels like the bike is not properly align (geometry maybe?) but alll they keep doing is clickie clicks.

So this past Ocotber, I decided to raise the rear and the bike felt so much more planted, but since I raised the rear plus added a taler rear tire (200) I couldn't get the rear to hook up.

I do think I finaly hit the nail on the head and know my issues were all due to geometry.

So by question is, HOW DO I CORRECT/SET GEOMETRY ? :oops:

trail and error ???o_O

Thnx

2. RM Racing

RM Racing Tool user

Did any of these "suspension tuners" suggest that changing geometry might be the answer? If all they did was "clickie-clickie", I think you've given them a title they don't really deserve. "Screwdriver operator" might be better.

Geometry must be in the ballpark long before the clicking starts. My suggestion would be to find a suspension guy who is willing to make geometry changes at the track and work with you during trackdays or race weekends. He will undoubtedly cost more than the screwdriver guy. One weekend of that (with an experienced tuner) will probably have a big effect that you can then fine tune with smaller adjustments.

Having some kind if data acquisition is tremendously helpful. Doesn't need to be Marelli or pro level, but travel potentiometers are not terribly expensive to add to something like an AIM system.

You can continue guessing, and you might hit the nail on the head again, but it will take much, much longer.