1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OT: axle removal (technical assistance for Chevy)

Discussion in 'Tech' started by Smoky777, Feb 21, 2006.

1. Smoky777

Smoky777 Well-Known Member

Hi guys and girls,

Good day to everyone. I hate to be a burden but I do need some assistance of a mechanical nature. I am trying to pull the axles from my `62 Chevy and I am not having much success. This may be off-topic, but I thought the WERA board may be the right place due to the fact that the Chevy is what I pull my RD-400 with. I also posted this in Vintage.

Part of my problem is that I have never done this before so I don't know what to expect. Step one said "remove the axles", step 2 was "remove the diff carrier". Basically, the manual says to unbolt the rear axle bearings, bolt a slide hammer to the lugs on the hub, and use the slide hammer to "Extract" the axles. I've tried this with a friend's "body-shop" slide hammer. It is a relatively small unit and its weight is probably a pound. I cannot get the axles to pull out at all. Do I just need a bigger slide hammer?

Even though I couldn't get the axles to pull I still wanted to progress a bit. So I loosened all the bolts that hold the differential assembly onto the rear axle housing thinking that now the oil would start to drain out (in preparation for removal). But no oil flowed. I tapped on the diff carrier with a hammer but I could not get it to move or break the seal to allow the oil to drain. Any ideas what I am doing wrong here? Do the axles need to be removed before this thing will even budge?

Any feedback is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

-John

2. jtroyh

jtroyh Well-Known Member

I'm no Chevy mechanic. But this is basic.
    The Pumpkin(carrier) in the middle of the axle facing forward should come loose, but not out. Get a bigger hammer in both instances.