1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New to the bike and hopefully the racing scene

Discussion in 'Information For New Racers' started by R6ian, May 4, 2017.

Tags:
  1. R6ian

R6ian Active Member

Hi,
    I'm new to motorcycle riding in general and like everything I do in life I have to be competitive . I have an r6 now and want to get another one for racing . My question is am I being stupid in wanting that to start out with a 600 or is the smarter move to buy a small bike . I don't feel like spending money to get a bike set up to race and then sell it next year to get something bigger and loosing money . Which I understand because I used to race bicycle for years and always lost money when buying and sell race bike. What do you guys think ?

2. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

What are your long term goals? If you're looking at being as fast as possible buy smaller and work up. If just looking to have some fun, start with what you're used to and go for it.

3. R6ian

R6ian Active Member

Yes fast as possible, thanks

4. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

Then go with a 300 or an SV and learn to go fast on a slow bike. Then add in horsepower later.

Bobby_Evans likes this.
  5. R6ian

R6ian Active Member

Great Thanks for your help

6. Boman Forklift

Boman Forklift Well-Known Member

Also, it is much cheaper to buy an already setup bike, vs building your own. Bodywork, rearsets, front and rear suspension, etc. will cost almost as much as you can buy an already setup SV650 for.

Phl218 likes this.
  7. R6ian

R6ian Active Member

Thanks for the advice, I have been looking for something already done . I agree it is much cheaper.

8. stangmx13

stangmx13 Well-Known Member

pay for good coaching and instruction. u dont know what you dont know and u arent going to discover it all by yourself very quickly. IMO, this matters more than racing a small bike.