1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lets talk shop floors

Discussion in 'General' started by Captain Poo Poo Pants III, Feb 20, 2017.

1. Looking at moving next month and the 2 places I've been looking at I would like to do the floors before I move in. Both have oil/stains on them. I went to home depot yesterday to check out some options for the floors. I'm thinking I will use a degreaser to clean them up and then an etcher to prep the floors. The 1 shop I'm leaning towards is about 1500sqft total but about 1350 of it is shop space and the other is office space.

I was leaning on buying these 1 gallon buckets of epoxy coating that cover about 3-500sqft and mixing in the anti skid into each gallon. But I've never done this kind of thing before.

I should have a solid week or two overlap to get the new shop wired, air ran and the floors done.

Suggestions?

2. Razr

Razr Well-Known Member

I'm sure someone will have a line on a good floor coating, but I will say to stay away from anything Home Depot or Lowes has to sell. Even their etching or Muriatic acid is crap compared to what you can get at a specialty place like a concrete supply company.

3. Boman Forklift

Boman Forklift Well-Known Member

I suggest you clean it, and don't waste your money on the floor, since it is likely a short term lease. But I'm also cheap!!!

six6two and Phl218 like this.
  4. elvee

elvee Well-Known Member

Go over to,garage journal and read the flooring forum. Tons of info and options. You will need to degrease, maybe grind, and then etch. There are a lot of options hat are more affordable and of better quality than what you will get at a box store.

G8rDuc and ekraft84 like this.