1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to Prep bike for winter

Discussion in 'General' started by lopitt85, Oct 24, 2019.

1. lopitt85

lopitt85 Well-Known Member

Just like the title says, I'm looking for some info. I'm in Wisconsin and this is my first time in a winter climate. Garage is not climate controlled, and from what I gather temps got down to -40 to -50 last winter.

I was thinking I would swap the coolant for either 80/20 antifreeze/water, or just go straight antifreeze since it's only for storage. Mix some Stabil into my gas like normal and fully top off fuel tank, and run it long enough for the Stabil to reach the injectors. Or, should I run it dry on fuel? Also planned to pull the wheels/slicks off and store them in a closet in the house. Bike on stands all winter. Am I overthinking it? Am I in the right track? What do you guys do up here in this winter weather?

Last edited: Oct 24, 2019
    code3ryder likes this.
  2. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

Empty ALL the water and fuel and that's about it.

sharkattack and 969 like this.
  3. lopitt85

Will being empty allow corrosion in the cooling system? That's why I was thinking straight antifreeze, for the anti-corrosion properties.

4. nd4spd

nd4spd Well-Known Member

Fill the tank with ethanol free fuel.
    Drain the water and put antifreeze back in.
    Run the engine until it comes up to normal operating temp so that it has a chance to properly cycle through.
    Top off the tank once more.

Moving tires inside depends on their condition. If they're already toast and you plan on replacing them in the spring it doesn't matter, just leave 'em on. Put the bike on stands and either take the battery inside and put it on a tender or put it on a tender in the garage.

BigBird likes this.
  5. Dom17

Dom17 Well-Known Member