1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hope this makes you feel good!

Discussion in 'General' started by guerrilla, Jul 20, 2003.

1. guerrilla

guerrilla Real King of the Jungle

Not Sure where it came from but #3 and #5 especially made me smile.

1) First Important Lesson - Cleaning Lady.

During my second month of college, our professor gave us a
    pop quiz. I was a conscientious student and had breezed through the questions, until I read the last one: "What is the first name of the woman who cleans the school?"

Surely this was some kind of joke. I had seen the cleaning woman several times. She was tall, dark-haired and in her 50s, but how
    would I know her name? I handed in my paper, leaving the last question blank. Just before class ended, one student asked if the last question would count toward our quiz grade. "Absolutely," said the professor. "In your careers, you will meet many people. All are significant. They deserve your attention and care, even if all you do is smile and say 'hello'.
    I've never forgotten that lesson. I also learned her name
    was Dorothy.

2) Second Important Lesson - Pickup in the Rain One night.

At 11.30 p.m., an older African American woman was standing
    on the side of an Alabama highway trying to endure a lashing rainstorm. Her car had broken down and she desperately needed a ride. Soaking wet, she decided to flag down the next car. A young white man stopped to help her, generally unheard of in those conflict-filled 1960s. The man took her to safety, helped her
    get assistance and put her into a taxicab. She seemed to be
    in a big hurry, but wrote down his address and thanked him.

Seven days went by and a knock came on the man's door. To