1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello!

Discussion in 'Information For New Racers' started by LED1975, Aug 11, 2017.

1. LED1975

LED1975 Active Member

I'm about to do my very first track day next Saturday at Putnam. I'm a little nervous. I've been riding street only for about 16 years, and my little (stock) Ninja 250 is my first "true sportbike" since I've ridden standard/naked bikes from the start ('77 Kawasaki KZ650, '00 Kawasaki ZR-7, and currently a '14 Yamaha FZ-09) and I've never even gotten close to getting a knee down, never dragged a peg....so I'm pumped and nervous at the same time.
    Since the classes are only novice, intermediate, and advanced, I'm aware that I'll have all sizes of bikes out there with me. I've heard a lot about the power difference being a potential problem or danger.
    Any thoughts or advice?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. Phl218

Phl218 .

stay cool and have fun!

LED1975 likes this.
  3. booger1

booger1 New Member

Relax and have fun kid.

LED1975 likes this.
  4. LED1975

LED1975 Active Member

I can't wait!!

5. JBall

JBall REALLY senior member

Hold your line, and try to be predictable. Don't worry about who is coming from behind, because turning around to look changes your line. You will be getting passed on the straight, so just get used to that.

Don't worry about "dragging a knee" either, that will just happen. And have fun!

LED1975 likes this.
  6. rcarson15

rcarson15 Well-Known Member

Welcome to the addiction! I'm not sure how competitive you are, but don't try to override your limit or get sucked into trying to keep up with someone faster. Just relax, listen to the CRs, and have fun! You'll learn a whole lot so try to soak it all up and apply it

LED1975 likes this.
  7. LED1975

LED1975 Active Member