1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cylinder question from a Gp newbie

Discussion in '2-Stroke Machines' started by C-Par, Nov 13, 2001.

1. C-Par

C-Par Well-Known Member

I would like to thank those who answered my questions on rebuilding, tuning, and other little things. Talking to you Gp guys I'm not to worried about changing pistons, tuning, and Changing the crank. But now something came to me. Wait a min all of these rebuilds, How many times can you reuse a cylinder? I've heard people talking about replating. I guess that is that cylinder coating? Can you just resleeve them? I've checked prices and a cylinder is more expensive than the case set?

2. TZ925

TZ925 I do it for His glory!

Most of the people I have spoken with on the replating subject say "don't do it". The feeling is that the plating comes off too easily.

I have no first hand experience with replating so I'm only repeating what I have heard.

For what it's worth...

Monty

3. Jack

Jack Well-Known Member

I just replated my KX. I HOPE it holds up. Looks good and everything fit right, at least. Cylinders last a LOOONG time, unless you stick the thing and tear the nickacil. That's why I had to replate the KX. That nickle-chrome is hard as hell, wears a long, long time before ever wearing out.