1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adding an outlet for a generator in the garage...help needed

Discussion in 'General' started by Chris, Jul 22, 2015.

1. Chris

Chris Keepin' it old school

My wife and I bought our first home a few months ago and I'm trying to cross some things off of my to do list. I would like to install an outlet in my garage to run my generator into in case of a power outage, which I understand happens fairly regularly in my neighborhood.

This is the generator I have: https://www.ridgid.com/us/en/6800-watt-generator.

I imagine the best way to accomplish this would be to install a sub panel and run directly into that. But to be honest, I have little to no electrical experience outside of working on cars/bikes. Looking for some direction on doing the job myself, or if this is a job for a professional and back away slowly.

I believe the generator should be able to handle most of, if not all, of our major household items. In the past I have used it by wiring it through a box, directly into the panel. However, this was at our previous rental house where the panel was close to the front door and I was able to reach it with the 30 amp cord that came with the generator. Our home's panel is in the basement, so this is no longer an option.

Any advice on making this work would really help.

2. DaveB

DaveB Just Riding Around

You need to do it properly with a transfer switch so you don't back feed into the utility lines (or have the utility power backfeed into the generator when it comes back on) and potentially injure/kill a lineman working on stuff.

This is definitely a job for a professional in my opinion as if you do it improperly and something happens your homeowners insurance could deny your claim.

Here is a general overview of how it is done properly: http://powerequipment.honda.com/generators/connecting-a-generator-to-your-home

3. Chris