1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2015 F150 Body Panel Repair

Discussion in 'General' started by Dave_SV, Dec 18, 2018.

1. Dave_SV

Dave_SV Well-Known Member

My truck was hit in the back bumper while I was parked the other day, no idea who did it and no insurance information :mad:

The bumper was dented in which is no big deal but it pushed the bumper into the rear quarter panel and the panel tore. These are the new aluminum beds, I brought it to my local body guy but he didn't feel comfortable doing the repair so he is going to refer me to another shop.

My question is has anyone had to repair an aluminum panel or does it have to be replaced? Attached are some photos, I would prefer the panel be replaced but I'm not an expert. I also want to have some justification in case the insurance adjuster says repair but the shop says replacement.

Attached Files:

2. tdelegram

tdelegram Well-Known Member

Yes, for the aluminum panels they have to be an approved ford repair shop to get the ford rivet gun required to remount the panel. For my 17 350 I waited 6. months for a panel because they were all going to production but that was early into the new lines run.

Dave_SV and TurboBlew like this.
  3. skidooboy

skidooboy supermotojunkie

in my opinion (30 years in the collision repair industry, last 15 as an insurance adjuster), the panel needs to be replaced, not repaired. with the tears, it just makes it a difficult repair in the aftermarket. can a repair be done? sure, is it best for the truck in the long run? depends on the tech doing the work. you would need an old school REAL METAL GUY, that is comfortable welding and metal finishing aluminum. one word UNICORN. CHOOSE YOUR SHOP, AND REPAIR METHOD CAREFULLY, especially if you plan on keeping the truck long term.