1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Who here is artistic?

Discussion in 'General' started by Steeltoe, Dec 20, 2023.

1. britx303

britx303 Boomstick Butcher…..

Trying to resize some pics:crackup:

2. britx303

Basically when I’m not doing standard duties, I’m the guy that turns these……..150+- at a time. All must be indistinguishable from the next, and must withstand angry gaveling as we recently witnessed :crackup:This one I pulled due to the knots. So I use it as my carving mallet :D

Attached Files:

3. Dan Dubeau

Dan Dubeau Well-Known Member

Creative yeah, don't think I'd call me artistic though, not very much. My day job is so left brained, analytical and structured, I gravitate to right brained hobbies and projects at home so I can be a bit more creative thinking and free. I need that balance and creative outlet or I go fucking crazy.

Razr likes this.
  4. Mblashfield

Mblashfield Well-Known Member

5. Mblashfield

I’m still unclear as to your job, but this mallet or gavel is beautiful!
    I became obsessed with mallet turning a couple years ago. I turned dozens and dozens learning from each one and transferring the knowledge to the next.

britx303 likes this.
  6. Mblashfield

Here are some of the nicer ones

Attached Files:

britx303 likes this.
  7. britx303

Very nice!!!

8. britx303

Originally I’m a 4th or 5th gen cabinetmaker/woodworker as main trade,and my Dad taught me to turn when I was apprenticing. But I’m no longer private sector and woodworking is only a small part of what I do now. Yep, every turn is different even when you are duplicating multiples of the same species…….something will change in grain or what have you, blank to blank

9. Mblashfield

Thank you!

britx303 likes this.
  10. Mblashfield

The thought of trying to make two identical pieces (without duplicating technology) hurts my brain. I would never try.

britx303 likes this.
  11. PMooney Jr.