1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Going from Road to Dirty bikes...

Discussion in 'General' started by Six3SixGal, Aug 12, 2010.

1. dusty20

dusty20 #97 North Central Ex.

I just did this year. It is a ton of fun and a lot cheaper. Big things i learned was stand up a lot more than you think you have to. I thought i was standing up a lot but my friends made sure to let me know i looked like i was on a sunday ride. I'm no mx genius as i have been doing it for all of a couple months but seems to be the easiest to hold your rpm's high and regulate your speed in corners with the clutch. (advice from others: is that the right way?) if you feel like you are going to lose it in a corner give it a hand full of throttle. When you are working on jumping the best thing to do is follow someone you trust and tell them you want to follow them to learn how to jump, make sure they aren't doing anything other than just letting the bike clear the jump. that was always a problem with me trying to jump, trying to figure out what speed to hit stuff at. The front brakes/tire will grab more than you think it will. Elbows out or you will be uncomfortable and look like a squid and again your friends will remind you of how silly you look :) at least mine did. Typically it hurts less to overclear something or go faster through a creek or something like that than to go slower. I learned it is a lot less demanding around an mx track to just give it that little bit extra throttle to land smoother, saves your legs from being tired and your arms will thank you too.

If you start getting arm pump be easy, you won't realise how bad it is until you realise you can't shut off the throttle after landing a jump.

2. ThrottleAbuse

ThrottleAbuse Will Race for CASH!