1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice needed on tenant/landlord issue...

Discussion in 'General' started by Gigantic, Feb 4, 2009.

1. Gigantic

Gigantic Maverick Moto Media

ok, so I've been laid off for a month & because I'm an independent contractor I'm ineligible for unemployment. Being unable to find work and out of savings, I've been forced to make some hard choices. Do I keep my Jeep, which I need for work(if I find it) or do I keep my apartment? I made the decision that my first priority had to be transportation, so I let my property management company know that I was out of work, could not find work and therefore could not pay my rent this month and if I did not find work soon, would not be able to pay rent at all. I inquired about terminating my lease. I expected that I might be evicted if I was unable to pay my rent. What I didn't expect was what thy told me next: in addition to evicting me, they would also sue me in court to recover the remainder of my lease, which comes to about $10,000.

what do I do now? I'm so completely fucked, I can't believe it. Do I have any recourse at all? I'm shocked that they would do something like that, but my apartment manager also intimated to me that a guy in my building recently died just after renewing his lease, so the company went after his estate to collect. :eek:
    any advice?

2. omnivore

omnivore Well-Known Member

They cannot sue you for the remainder of your lease if they are able to get a new tenant into your apt after you leave.

AFAIK You could only be held responsible for the time the apt remained empty, as they can't get the rent from the new tenant and you for the same period of time.

Be realistic. If you have to pay the $10 grand for the rent even when you aren't living there anymore, then you might as well squat and stay and run up the rent tab to the tune of $10 grand if you are gonna be on the hook for it anyways.