1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I need a new handgun...lets talk guns today. :D

Discussion in 'General' started by Kris87, Mar 17, 2010.

1. nigel smith

nigel smith Well-Known Member

Repent, blasphemer! The 1911 is the one true gun!

2. lizard84

lizard84 My “fuck it” list is lengthy

Don’t look in the mirror.:D

Gorilla George likes this.
  3. Tristan

Tristan Well-Known Member

opinions on Ruger SR9c ? 17 rd 3.4"

4. diggy

diggy Well-Known Member

I'd echo the advice to take it apart multiple times to get familiar with it. Second, I'm not comparing apples and oranges, I have no experience with a 1911 but have worked on my own stash of guns. Last couple of years my father gave me a bunch of OLD rifles and some pistols that his father had, so I had to learn to gunsmith a bit to get them running again (Win M1 carbine, Win 1873, Lee-Enfield, etc). Anyway, really look at how that round is chambering as you slowly move the slide forward. I have a Browning Buckmark 22lr that when brand new would do the same thing. When the nose of the bullet is in the right place on the feed ramp and the case rim is low, my particular pistol was having an issue in that the extractor was hanging up on the cartridge case rim. I simply took a cratex wheel on a dremel and CAREFULLY smooth and polish the leading edge of the extractor. IMO, most times there is a failure to feed, binding is an issue and the part that is adding the extra resistance needs to be fixed. To me, this is essentially what running 200+ rounds through a gun does. Good luck.

5. Gecko

Gecko Well-Known Member

Ha, ha! I know. My father's tried to drill that into my head for many years now. I have one, but only just because "history." I can appreciate others that like them and get them to work for them, but for me it's just not a good fit.

DucatiBomber likes this.
  6. rd400racer

rd400racer Well-Known Member