Fun car, 10 grand-ish?

Discussion in 'General' started by rd400racer, May 10, 2012.

1. rd400racer

rd400racer Well-Known Member

I've been driving trucks and sport utes for almost 20 years. I have a nice Titan but I really don't need it as a daily driver anymore. I'm toying with the idea of selling it (say around 15 grand) and buying a fun car for 10-12 and an older F150 just to have a truck in the family (haul the bikes, etc).

So far on a short list is BMW M3 or Z3, Mustang convertible, if I can find one in decent shape a mid-80's 911, or maybe a late 90's Vette C5.

I've done lot's of looking and all of these cars can be found in decent shape in the 10-12 grand range, except for the 911 which seems to be going for more near 15K.

So you have that to spend....watcha going to buy for fun?

Or pass on any experiences with the vehicles listed above.

2. Dave K

Dave K DaveK über alles!

With the 911 you'd better know what you're getting into before you buy. A riot to drive but if you're an "average" driver and you push it HARD, chances are it will bite you and bite you hard. Not to mention the cost of maint.

Me? I'd look at a clean miata or S2000 with the miata winning between the two. It's cheap, cheap to maintain, fun and if you have to modify it, a million go fast parts out there.

3. backMarker01

backMarker01 Well-Known Member

miata + a V8 droped in could be had for about 10g. :)

4. V5 Racer

V5 Racer Yo!

If it were me? A 92-96 C4 LT1 vette, the car the haterz love to hate.

5. jkhonea

jkhonea Back Again

And a Miata with a V8 can hurt a lot of people's feelings before they even know what hits them. :D

6. speedracer170

speedracer170 Well-Known Member

R32 or R33 Skyine GTR or GTST

7. rd400racer

See, I have a hard time with the Miata thing. I know they are great etc, etc, but I can't get past the chicks car image (even though the Z3 is just as bad).