1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tire Warmers

Discussion in 'Tech' started by FastBoy, Mar 22, 2003.

1. FastBoy

FastBoy Well-Known Member

Okay, being a PN I'm new with the tire warmer applications. How are you guys using them (how long) prior to the first practice and how do you use them in between practices and races especially if you start practice at 9am and continue racing until 4pm with an hour or two between track time. BTW these are CH Pole Position warmers (135/175 thermostats) on Pirelli rubber.

2. G Dawg

G Dawg Broken Member

3. FastBoy

FD@$TY$^&+_(hnkljh

Great! Now I'm more confused than before after reading some of those old threads. Seems like voodoo magic. Thanks.

4. G Dawg

G Dawg Broken Member

Re: FD@$TY$^&+_(hnkljh

:confused: :confused:
    That's the beauty of the BBS.
    1]Check air pressure 1st thing in the morning,put warmers on clean tires,with the PP warmers,turn on 1/2 hr before going out.After you come in,clean your tires,put them back on[not plugged in].
    How's that?

5. bmfgsxr

bmfgsxr Well-Known Member

317 basically covered it. most warmers will take from 30-45 minutes to heat up the tire/rim. i turn mine on about 40 minutes prior to race start. always clean your tires with a rag before putting on your warmers. this will get the snots, and rocks off your tire for the most part. if you have a short time between races plug them back in. if your not racing within a half hour dont plug them back in right away. the reason to put them on after a race is so they dont cool down as fast and wont receive as much damage from heat cycling. the reason most manufacturers recommend up to 45 minutes is because that is what it takes to heat the rim up also, and that will aid in maintaining the heat in your tires. read this page... http://www.chickenhawkracing.com/ma...ontent/00/00/31/78/74/userdirectory33.content it has a lot of info for ya. good luck.