1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tire Question!

Discussion in 'General' started by r0cketrider, May 24, 2002.

1. r0cketrider

r0cketrider Well-Known Member

Ok...quit your groaning I am a newb remember! :D

Anyways I am debating between the Metzeler and Michelin race tires for my bike....I was wondering what experience anyone has had with these? They will be going on a race-prepped '97 YZF600R.

Thanks!

2. brianjohnson

brianjohnson Well-Known Member

I've got a race-prepped '97 yzf600 as well. I've run Metzelers, Michelins, and Dunlops. I LOVE the Michelins, but they take a few laps to warm up. I really like the Metzelers, they warm up faster, and last almost as long. I hate Dunlops, although to be fair, I've only ever used the 207GPs.

Basically, I guess my answer is either Michelin or Metzeler is a good choice.

3. Stumpy

Stumpy apprentice

Check with Derek Bennet of DB Motorsports... stickboy274 on the BBS... He's the SE Bridgestone guy. He has a good bit of experience with the yzf and he provides great trackside support.
    http://www.DBMotorsportsracing.com

4. Motorin Mark

Motorin Mark Well-Known Member

I put the new metzler rennsports on my gixxer 750 and they are way better than the dunlops that were on it.

5. roy826ex

roy826ex Been around here a while

Michelins.......and tire warmers.

6. r0cketrider

r0cketrider Well-Known Member

Thanks for the responses everyone. I do have a question, I have looked around for the Michelin race tires and I do not think they offer the rear in a 160...anyone see them anywhere?

7. TSC_113

TSC_113 Look At me!!!

I believe that the RACE 2 will not be available in the 160 size until later in the year. The Race 1 are still available of course.

YMMV

8. Gixxer602

Gixxer602 Well-Known Member

Better than Dunlops?

How come those pros are so fast on Dunlops?

9. Stimy25

Stimy25 Well-Known Member