1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

tips preparing myself for first race day

Discussion in 'Information For New Racers' started by jiffyzx6, Jan 18, 2011.

1. jiffyzx6

jiffyzx6 Well-Known Member

serious question. everyone talks about getting the bike prepared for race day but what about you?
    my first race is coming up in two weeks and I can barley eat, can't sleep, my mind is racing way more than usual and if I check the bolts on the bike one more time I think the bolts will strip... lol I'm going out of my mind with excitement and stress. is this somethin all of you have felt your first race? how did you ease your mind... or did I loose mine lol

I guess my real question would be, what do you do to prepare yourself physically and mentaly for race day? I've been working my ass off for the past three years for this day to finally get here.

thanks for any advice

2. Smalls

Smalls 2012 Blue...

Relax & have fun.......:up:

3. fzr400tony

fzr400tony can't ride

Buy a torque wrench, you don't want to strip out those bolts. :)

Being nervous is natural. It goes away as soon as the green flag drops.

Get a notebook and take notes. They might not be useful in three years, but they will have something in them for the next time you're at that track. You should note your suspension setup, tire make and model with the cold and hot temps you're running. You should note unusual things about the track and some reference points. Lap times aren't a bad idea either. Unless you're like me and don't want anyone to see how slow you are. :)

Don't listen to your music too loud, you might miss a call.

4. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

Stay hydrated and make sure you eat.

5. eggfooyoung

eggfooyoung You no eat more!

Exercise is a good stress reliever, believe it or not.