1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Slipper choices... yoyodine, Suter, STM?? (GSXR750)

Discussion in 'Tech' started by thrills, Mar 18, 2024.

1. thrills

thrills Active Member

I have a 2011 GSXR 750 (track only) that is in need of a full on clutch rebuild (hub, baskets, etc). Since I'm already in here, I'm thinking about going aftermarket slipper.

I have zero experience with non-OEM slippers.. anyone have any thoughts on which is best + doable at home by a regular shadetree mechanic (ie. doesn't require a race team to setup)?

Thanks

2. DaveB

DaveB Just Riding Around

I can't give you a comparison of all 3 but I had a Yoyodyne in a 2013 750 and had zero problems with it. Just set the stack height per the instructions.

thrills likes this.
  3. Dillonjohnson

Dillonjohnson Well-Known Member

I just put a suter in a new R1. It was pretty straightforward. We ran a STM in our r6's for a while too.
    The suter is allegedly sensitive to the air gap between the rollers and bolts, but I imagine if you set the stack height right on any of them and do as instructions state, then they are all user friendly. If you put an OEM one in incorrectly, it also will not work.
    Ive heard really good things about the suter, which is why i went with it.

thrills likes this.
  4. rpm894

rpm894 Well-Known Member

What is the benefit of the Suter over OEM? I saw a good price on one recently for the r6 and was thinking maybe I should get it.

5. Dillonjohnson

The stock r1 clutch worked really well for me, but i found a price on a new suter I couldn't pass up, so I grabbed it to try it. Our older r6's, 06-16, the stock clutch i could never get to where i liked it, so we went to STM at the time.

Essentially the suter slips more so less wheel hop. There is a lot more in depth to it, but primarily to my understanding its less wheel hop, and less engine breaking since the clutch slips.