1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ninja 400, cost to track-ready?

Discussion in 'Information For New Racers' started by Heeltoeclutch, Feb 28, 2023.

1. Heeltoeclutch

Heeltoeclutch Member

Hi all, thanks in advance;

I'm just starting out on the track, planning to do more and wanting to get a Ninja 400 for my first serious learning bike. However - I want to use it on the road too for canyons etc. so it must be titled.

I haven't seen many track 400s in my area that are titled (SoCal), mostly just street bikes people are selling. (Possible I don't know where to look)

As such, what is the approximate cost to get a stock, street Ninja 400 into a decent track learning machine? I know I would want different clipons, hear that people don't like the brakes or rear suspension much, but not sure how much that matters for learning.

Appreciate all wisdom and suggestions. Thanks!

2. mattys281-2

mattys281-2 Well-Known Member

If you’re just getting started on the track, I’d say the best money you can spend is on coaching.

there should be a suspension guy at the track that can get you a good setting in the stock components for your body weight and skill level.

maybe get some track bodywork and frame savers, as oem bodywork can be very expensive to replace, but 90% of the improvements you’ll see is between your ears.

unless budget is no concern, then you can just go nuts with everything

Heeltoeclutch likes this.
  3. Heeltoeclutch

Heeltoeclutch Member

Thanks mattys, budget is certainly limited. I will plan to invest in coaching in the future.

My main choice right now is - do I buy a stock street Ninja 400, which I can get for $3k-4k around here (salvage title), or try to find one that is more track-prepped, which might be better in some way for learning or reliability...?

4. stickboy274

stickboy274 Stick-a-licious Tire Dude