1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Job's: where to look?

Discussion in 'General' started by Captain Poo Poo Pants III, Jun 5, 2013.

1. i got laid off at the beginning of April. I was a remote corporate manager for Best Buy. They shut down our program after the re-org of the company, re-focusing on core business and eliminating non essential personal.

regardless of that i've actually been steadily employed for 7+ years and i haven't had to actually look for a new job.

i've been looking on monster, career builder, and the like but it honestly it seems like scams after scams. any good advice on where to look? either in Georgia or SoCal. willing to move for the right opportunity.

i'm finishing up my resume today, i did it on a resume building site last night and just need to reword a few things.

thanks in advance guys.

2. RM Racing

RM Racing Tool user

Don't take this the wrong way - I hope the spelling and grammar on your résumé are better than your post.

My wife has been out of work for some time now, and it's quite difficult. It seems almost every employer sorts everyone out through online applications, then weeds out the chaff to get to the interviews. There are jobs out there, but the pay is definitely not as good as it was before the economy tanked.

I'll ask her what she has found about searches.

3. kman0066

kman0066 Well-Known Member

One thought would be to create a LinkedIn account and post your resume on there, a lot of recruiters use keyword searches there to find people. At least in the tech industry. I get calls from recruiters almost daily from my info on there.

4. jayhawkindc

jayhawkindc Well-Known Member