1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

? for tire guys and exp'd racers

Discussion in 'General' started by ToddClark, Sep 23, 2002.

1. ToddClark

ToddClark f'n know it all

Ok, heres the deal. This is my first year racing as several of you know. Being new to sportbike/racing, i have a question about tire size. Roebling Road last weekend i had my first victory in the Medium wt. solo 20. Was turning the best lap times ive ever had at Roebling (low to mid 1:20's the entire 16 laps). Bike is a bone stock right down to the suspension 99 R6. Bike was handling GREAT, according to speedo, going thru T9 @ 130-135mph and the Pirelli's were sticking like glue.

Heres the question. This past weekend as i was cleaning up the bike, i noticed that when i had the tires put on at the track, they mistakenly put on a 160/60/17 on the rear rather than the 180/55. I know that having a 160 is gonna make the bike turn in quicker, but what could be the other possible consequences of running the smaller tire? Hell, as good as the bike felt, im HALF tempted to keep running that size. I bought 2 sets that weekend and didnt get into the 2nd set, theyre still in my garage awaiting mounting for the GNF and they ARE the correct size at 180/55.

Just curious what the advantages/disadvantages would be at keeping the 160 size??

All thoughts and opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance. :)

2. Madmike

Madmike Drunk Member

I thought having speedo was bad?

160 has less tire mass than the 180
    Same concept as doing a 520 conversion.
    Lower un-sprung weight equals a motor that can crank power faster with less load.

What im not sure about is the actual contact patch for a 160 versus a 180. If in full lean the angle of the tire to the ground should be close on both. but what about how much is actually grabbing?

Of course im no expert but thought i would impart some type of answer

3. Tex