1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Choosing the right 2 piece suit.

Discussion in 'Information For New Racers' started by tearlessj, Apr 2, 2011.

1. tearlessj

tearlessj Well-Known Member

I know this isn't a strictly racing question, but I feel that Wera is the most knowledgeable 2 wheels community.

I just started riding a few months ago and have slowly been progressing. It's time for me to buy a suit so I can get on the track, and I would prefer to get a 2 piece suit.

The 3 suits that I am look at are:

-Teknic Chicane http://stores.sportbiketrackgear.com/Detail.bok?no=4936, I looked over them because i havn't heard too many things about them, but some retailers have them on close out for $299 shipped. This seems like the best deal for a leather suit.

-Avg sport Palomar http://www.motorcycle-superstore.com/1/1/42/29847/ITEM/AGV-Sport-Palomar-Two-Piece-Leather-Suit.aspx I've read many good things about AVG suits holding up well in event of a crash. A little pricey at $599 shipped.

-A* Sp-1 http://www.revzilla.com/product/alpinestars-sp-1-two-piece-suit A friend recommended me to get a A* suit. It is only $50 more than the Avg sport suit. Cheapest I can find is $650.

I'm on a under $700 budget. Out of the three which one would you pick? If anyone has any other recommendations please feel free to post up.

Thanks!

2. canezach

canezach Well-Known Member

Teknic makes some quality gear, but I've never worn the Chicane. I've crash-tested a Violator suit and it held up really well. If the Chicane is anything like the Violator, you won't be disappointed. I've also crashed in an AGV suit and it held up nicely as well. A* makes great gear too. Honestly, I don't think you can go wrong with any of your choices.

3. tearlessj

With the Teknic being $299 shipped right now, it makes it extremely tempting. I just don't want to regret my decision.

4. Sheik Abdul ben Falafel