1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

20mm or 25mm?

Discussion in 'Tech' started by spr258, Dec 22, 2007.

1. spr258

spr258 Well-Known Member

Just want to get some input on what to do. I have a 04 gsxr 600. want to redo my suspention with either Ohlins 20mm or 25mm? I'm just getting into racing but plan to race it untill I move up to expert. I will be puttig on the Ohlins rear shock at the same time.

2. vito2279

vito2279 Well-Known Member

IMO get the 20mm. A "true" novice will not be able to fully take advantage of 25mm forks. If monry is/was no object then getting the 25mm would be the way to go.

3. (diet)DrThunder

(diet)DrThunder Why so serious, son?

What problem are you fixing by doing either? I rode an 05 GSXR600 at Tally a couple of years ago w. a stock front end, and I thought it worked pretty good. I wouldn't rush out and buy fork valving unless there was a specific problem I was encountering that would be fixed w. the 20mm kit.

4. Big Deezul

Big Deezul Gossamer has MOJO!!!

Obviously the 25mm are better and trust me they are awesome...With that said a good 20mm set up works very well and on that old of a bike, I wouldn't spend the money on a 25mm set up when a new bike (to be competitive) will be in your future.

Last edited: Dec 23, 2007
  5. freels22

freels22 Well-Known Member

i've got the 20mm in a 06 gsxr 1000 set up by thermosman and love it. bike is on a rail for a 1000.

6. (diet)DrThunder

Why are they obviously better? Granted this is hardly a representative sample, but the LOC guys had a hell of a time getting the 25mm kitted forks to work as well as the 20mm ones on the B bike...I don't thing they ever did accomplish it.

7. ahastings

ahastings Well-Known Member

Their better because they are bigger and cost more.

8. Big Deezul

Big Deezul Gossamer has MOJO!!!