1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2023 Daytona 200

Discussion in 'General' started by grasshopper, Feb 14, 2023.

  1. lopitt85

    lopitt85 Well-Known Member

    I thought they made rule change in the last couple of years after someone caused a red flag and actually got a win or something? Maybe Road America?
  2. Skter505

    Skter505 Well-Known Member

    That's what I thought too but who knows.
  3. Peter Hively

    Peter Hively Registered

  4. Peter Hively

    Peter Hively Registered

    You mean Bobby Fong at Barber? Yeah lots of confusion after that one. And again years later when Gagne crashed at Brainerd last year (different scenario).

    The MA rulebook is based on the FIM rulebook (though there are differences). Things are different than they used to be. RTFRB to reduce confusion.
    Once a Wanker.. and lopitt85 like this.
  5. Booger

    Booger Well-Known Member

    There are all small, little men.
    Gino230 and GixxerBlade like this.
  6. Skter505

    Skter505 Well-Known Member

    I thought it was mentioned that the rule book was changed but you're right, it's still listed as "actively competing" meaning get back on your bike and get it to pit lane.
    Once a Wanker.. likes this.
  7. Skter505

    Skter505 Well-Known Member

    You asked a what if question. As in what if there wasn't a red. I highly doubt they would have docked him 6 positions if that's what you meant.
    Once a Wanker.. and Brad like this.
  8. lopitt85

    lopitt85 Well-Known Member

    Might've been. I can't remember, its all pretty fuzzy at this point. I just remember there being a Yuuuuuge discussion and hoopla around it.
  9. kenessex

    kenessex unregistered user

    This is my opinion, not fact, although I am right. Herrin did not safely complete the pass even though he was a wheel up. Therefore, he was responsible for Richie going down. A grid penalty is a chicken shit penalty in this scenario. It isn't even a slap on the wrist, it just makes it look like the officials did something effective. A real penalty would have been a finish position or time penalty assessed at the end of the race.
  10. Brad

    Brad Swollen Member

    I'm aware as -I- was the one that asked the question.:D Therefore, still wondering if he'd have been docked positions without the red which was really ineffective considering its a 20 foot penalty on the grid.
    The Todd and Skter505 like this.
  11. Captain Morgan

    Captain Morgan Well-Known Member

    I was there, weather was beautiful
  12. HPPT

    HPPT !!!

  13. Peter Hively

    Peter Hively Registered

    Yeah like last year at Pitt when the leader crashed out of RE BTR, and there was a red flag, I was shouting at the TV "get up, get going"!
    Once a Wanker.. likes this.
  14. Peter Hively

    Peter Hively Registered

    We're not the only ones confused around here

    MELK-MAN and kirk erlinger like this.
  15. ToofPic

    ToofPic Member known well

    Yep!!! He literally was in the lead before they completed the first lap of the restart. As mentioned before, a time penalty should have been implemented.
    Horrible call officiating
  16. Skter505

    Skter505 Well-Known Member

    Yeah I didn't realize it was you I quoted at first. My opinion is any penalty would be too harsh for that move but especially a docked position. Middleweight (hell any class these days, watch WSBK) racing past few years has had a lot harder passing than that with and without the crashing. Unless they want to clean it up all year they should have left it being a racing incident. My opinion of course, which is also the right one, haha.
  17. 418

    418 Expert #59

  18. COOP 1

    COOP 1 Well-Known Member

    racing incident
    rapidzrx likes this.
  19. rapidzrx

    rapidzrx Well-Known Member

  20. redtailracing

    redtailracing gone tuna fishin'

    Maybe both a racing incident and a dick move? I didn’t necessarily think it should have been penalized but it was unnecessarily aggressive at that stage in the race. Just absolutely no reason for it.

Share This Page