1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Legit electric car question

Discussion in 'General' started by Bugslayer, Jul 13, 2023.

1. Tristan

Tristan Well-Known Member

and his hatred of kids in 3rd world countries

2. tjnyzf

tjnyzf Well-Known Member

I work in the EV industry and know that the idea that EV's could ever replace ICE vehicles is a very long ways away. The startup I work for only exists because it is impossible for companies to get enough charging capacity with pole in the ground chargers for their fleets of EV's. So we make "portable" chargers and batteries and come to them and charge their vehicles for them.

The whole concept is ridiculous. In each city we operate in, we have a warehouse that has large enough electrical service so we can recharge our "portable" batteries. (By portable I mean they can be picked up with a forklift and put in the back of a van or truck.) Then we load them in a vehicle (some EV and some ICE) and drive the batteries out to the fleet locations and charge their vehicles. How stupid is that? There are always some efficiency loses whenever you are transferring energy from one source to another, so our process is just adding an additional energy transfer between the grid and the EV. But it's the only viable solution right now for some of these companies that have larger fleets of EVs.

I'm sure what we charge them per KWH is much higher than what their rate would be if they could get chargers installed at their facilities, but the problem is the lead time to get a charger installed is anywhere between 8-18 months right now. Plus they need to have high enough capacity electrical service wherever they are.

Even ignoring all the other issues associated with EVs, it will take decades for the infrastructure to be built up to handle any meaningful transition from ICE to EVs.

418, 27, YamahaRick and 3 others like this.
  3. BigBird

BigBird blah