1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Heated Jackets/vests

Discussion in 'General' started by fastedyamaha, Dec 24, 2022.

1. fastedyamaha

fastedyamaha Well-Known Member

Anyone have real world experience with these battery powered heated jackets/vests? Looking to get one for my daughter for when she goes back to college in minnesnowta in a couple of weeks

2. Shenanigans

Shenanigans in Mr.Rogers neighborhood

Buy a quality one. The ones on Amazon suck and don't really get warm enough

3. nd4spd

nd4spd Well-Known Member

I have a Tourmaster vest. It’s about 3-4 years old, has 4 settings, on low it’ll last 4-5hrs. On the higher settings it dies fast. It works great at taking the chill off on low and keeping core temp up. I only really use it when I hunt. I’d like it better if it charged via USB instead of a barrel connector. I’m pretty sure the pack is just a pair of 18650 cells so when it dies it can be refreshed.

4. zertrider

zertrider Waiting for snow. Or sun.

Milwaukee makes one. That's all I got

R/T Performance likes this.
  5. pickled egg

pickled egg Tell me more

Unless they’ve changed designs, I’d steer clear of the Milwaukee one.

I have one of the heated sweatshirts and used the heat function…once.

It uses an M12 battery that goes into an adapter, which sits right at your kidney (can’t even remember which side). Huge block of uncomfortableness. Impossible to swap batteries without taking it off. If they had put the connection in the pocket it would have sucked much less.

6. wac

wac Well-Known Member

Project farm in you tube got a nice review.

7. tony 340

tony 340 Well-Known Member

The Milwaukee one is ok, but there's no heat in the arms at all and you're going to want to wear that under another layer.

I'd only recommend the Milwaukee if you already have some M12 tools . Otherwise just buy a nice coat, it's a pain in the ass.

8. stickboy274