1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Racing and clutches

Discussion in 'Tech' started by Pilotryan, May 26, 2016.

1. Pilotryan

Pilotryan Member

Im just getting into racing and Im curious how often you guys who race are replacing your clutch? On my first race I had it burn out, so Im just trying to get a ball park for how often I should change it to prevent this from happening at the worst time. I know a lot of factors play into this and I could just replace my clutch every race but thats too excessive I think. Thanks in advance for the input.

2. stangmx13

stangmx13 Well-Known Member

ive got like 80 races on the original clutch in my CBR and its fine.

you have enough slack in your clutch adjustment?

3. Pilotryan

Pilotryan Member

Apparently not
    I replaced it about 2 years ago right before I got into track riding. I did recently replace my clutch lever but I made sure it had enough slack. I even had two tech inspection guys look at it as well. By the way I have an 2011 R1. 80 races? Well that good motivation to make sure the next one is set correctly.

4. RM Racing

RM Racing Tool user

On the other side of the coin, Yoshimura does 1 race start on each clutch. Somewhere between 1 and 80 should be good.

5. Kurlon

Kurlon Well-Known Member

Got a slipper? Like to make it work? Expect shorter clutch life.

TurboBlew and MELK-MAN like this.
  6. Pilotryan

Pilotryan Member

Haha. Thanks

7. TurboBlew

TurboBlew Registers Abusers

A friend of mine has Tommy Haydens old Rockstar/Makita bike... man the clutch cover was a work of art/had the easiest of access!

8. Pilotryan

Pilotryan Member

Had easy access to replace it frequently?

9. TurboBlew

TurboBlew Registers Abusers

Basically looks like this
    [​IMG]

Much easier to service & adjust than the "stock" one and the gasket stays put. If Yosh or Graves made one for the R6... they could sell every last one! :D

10. RM Racing