1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Labor law question.

Discussion in 'General' started by onepointone, Aug 13, 2012.

1. onepointone

onepointone Well-Known Member

So.. I mostly just lurk around on here reading threads and rarely post. I had a situation come up recently at work and wanted some advise.

I work in the automotive industry as a technician. I am on a team commission system as a team leader over 5 other techs. At the end of every day we take all of the hours the team has made as a whole, and split it evenly among the 6 techs.

A few years back we were on a shop comission system where out of 24 techs, the commission hours were split evently among all 24 techs (sucked). Back then management decided to enact a rule where if any tech broke a component or damaged something, for every $200 it cost the dealership, it was a 1.0 labor hour deduction from the entire group split. After about a year of this one of the older techs pointed out to management this was against Virginia Labor Laws. They quickly stopped doing this, no money was returned, it was never talked about again.

Come to last Friday, one of the other team leaders came to me mad because management was back stubbing them 15.0 hours labor for a job done over a month ago. One of his techs did not get a warranty stamp for faulty parts on an engine job, and the company rejected the warranty claim for a procedure error even though the engine job was still completed. Since they rejected the warranty claim, my dealership was debited the job, and management rolled that on to the team. I can't imagine how minimal the money the dealership is recouping by doing this..?