1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Government Shutdown

Discussion in 'The Dungeon' started by Sacko DougK, Apr 7, 2011.

1. sheepofblue

sheepofblue Well-Known Member

WHAT :confused: them Democrats talk all the time of cutting it. President Bush I DID cut it as did Clinton (I am sure of this as I work in the defense industry).

As to the percentage in 2010 Medicaid and Medicare were LARGER than defense and Social Security as large with the debt 4 points behind it. When the wild printing of money causes inflation the debt will likely pass it also. I agree there is waste but in comparison the military budget contains little waste to most agencies. The media also tends to lie about it, remember the $800 toilet seat? Find out what it fit, how much it had to weigh and how many G's it had to withstand while someone was dumping. Remember the hammer fiasco? Well it is true that the government could have gone to Sears and picked up as good a hammer for FAR less BUT they would not have accepted it. Yep the government mandates level of testing and other stuff that drove the cost up.

At most 10% is realistic and sadly with the expanding wars/actions we are burning up equipment that will need replacement or at a minimum more maintainance.

But as I admitted I am either biased due to my work.... or informed by it.

2. blkduc

blkduc no time for jibba jabba

We have a bet going at work. Will there be a shutdown or not. I'm betting not. This is nothing but a big show. These assholes are walking out wiping fake sweat from their brows like they've been hard at work...bullshit.

The longer we buy in to this "my guy vs. your guy" B.S., the longer we delay what we need to do which is fire these assholes and hit the reset button. The good ol' boys club will not go down without a fight.

In the meantime...el presidente is taking another family vacation. :rolleyes:

3. Sacko DougK

Sacko DougK Well-Known Member