MMI?

Discussion in 'General' started by Ttom, Jan 3, 2010.

1. alan

alan Well-Known Member

Its alot of money for a piece of paper. We have had very little luck with their graduates. Like someone else stated, PDI is where they will start. I wouldn't reconmend it from what I've seen at the dealership I work.

2. todzuki

todzuki got OBS?

Totally agree. i graduated from MMI in Phoenix in 2000 and still have a lot of student loan to pay that never seems to diminish. I learned a LOT. I went in with knowledge, but paid attention and gained a lot more knowledge from having went.

However, you will not come out making bank. I was lucky enough to be a partner in a shop beforehand and came back to the place surrounded by actual enthusiasts at a shop that actually gave a shit about its customers. If you are working with smart guys who are willing to go the extra step even if it's not on the repair order, you can quickly add to the knowledge you gained at MMI. It provides a great knowledge base for you to build on in the right setting after graduation.

I made a lot more money tending bar, but the contacts I gained at MMI got me to where I am. For me, it was worth it.

Just stay away from the bullshit. Drugs are everywhere there. So is theft at all the nearby apartment complexes so watch your bikes. Dumb rich kids and trouble makers litter the early stages till they flake out too.

3. VintageWannabe

VintageWannabe Diggin Deep

If you're dumb, and you just want to get a degree and don't care what it is or what you make afterward (doesn't sound like you since you're actually researching), then it's probably a good choice. If this is you though, I hope you don't. Stay away from my bike.