Tire Talk, please

Discussion in 'General' started by Kristin, Sep 27, 2005.

1. Kristin

Kristin Well-Known Member

I'm doing my first track day Oct. 3 at VIR. I need some new tires before I go up there. I'll probably just do one track day on these tires and the rest street. I'll get strictly track tires the next time I go to the track. But for right now I won't be riding hard my first time. What is a good all around street/track tire?

I'm thinking the DIABLO CORSA (i have a 04 r6)
    REAR: 180/55ZR17
    FRONT: 120/70-ZR17

Next question, where to buy tires? Who's the cheapest? I'm a broke college student. I spent all my money on the track day and forgot about tires :eek: Is Ron Ayers the cheapest? Also I need to get them shipped here pretty quick too...well before Saturday. :wow:

Thanks,
    Kristin

2. DDD570

DDD570 Guest

who is hosting the trackday? some organizers sell tires there.... but you'll lose some time mounting them. i'd say (if it's your 1st time) ride on your street tires in the AM, then mount up race rubber at lunch.

3. dtalbott

dtalbott Driving somewhere, hauling something.

You should PM that guy who didn't realize you were a female (before you changed your avatar).

He probably still feels guilty for ruining that thread.

4. vimkgt

vimkgt Well-Known Member

Find out who's doing the track day and email or call them to find out who the tire vendor will be, they almost always have on-track vendors, and it will be cheaper than buying them anywhere else. And yes they will mount at the track if you bring them your rims, and if you don't have the tools, there is always someone at the track who is willing to help.

5. Kristin

OKay done, just emailed sales @ Team Pro-Motion.

Thanks,
    Kris

6. YamRZ350

YamRZ350 Nicorette Dependent

I'm pretty sure TPM sells Pirelli at the track. At least they did last year. Don't forget to raise your front fender so the taller tire won't rub at speed.

7. Kristin

dang didn't think about that. :eek: